The Google Maps application, at the business level, has a close connection with the Google My Business application, which is widely used around the world for local businesses and at the online reputation level.
That is why if we want delete locations on Google Maps we must have access to Google My Business.
Let’s see how to proceed to remove a business on Google Maps, but first let’s try to solve some doubts.
Is it possible to delete a Google My Business account?
Google My Business is a great tool to get customers locally and even improve your reputation on the Internet thanks to its system of ratings by users.
However, some users want businesses not to be on Google My Business, either because they don’t really operate locally and don’t need it, or because they have suffered a minor online reputation crisis and want to get rid of their profile immediately and avoid further problems.
The positive thing for these businesses is that we can delete a Google My Business account, just like other Google services, but what we are interested in is deleting a business listing.
How to delete a business from Google My Business?
You can delete a Google My Business account if you wish, but not its business listing.
That is, you can delete the Google My Business account, but the business information will be visible in Google searches and Google Maps in most cases so we are not cutting off the problem we have.
When you delete the account you will only stop managing the business information. And this means that you will be unprotected against any criticism and external customers can change your company’s information at will.
In any case, if you are determined to remove your business from Google My Business, these are the steps you should follow:
- You have to log in to Google My Business with your account or the account where the business to be deleted is located.
- On the left side of the screen there is a column. Look for the “Information” section and click on it.
- Click “Close or delete” and click “Delete” to delete it.
- Google will ask you to log in to complete the procedure.
- Read the warning information that will appear and accept it if necessary.
- Click on “Delete account”.
How to delete address from Google Maps?
What if your business is on Google Maps but you don’t want it to appear?
If you delete your business from your My Business account but it is still in Maps, you can delete it.
If you want to delete a location on Google Maps you can request it, even if you do not manage the location.
These are the steps you must follow:
- Access Google Maps in your browser or app.
- Browse to the location you want to delete.
- Click on the “Suggest a change” button.
- Now you must select the section that says “Close or Remove” and select a valid reason why you want to delete it.
- Click on “Send”once you have it ready.
This will prevent a business from appearing on Google Maps. Keep in mind that appearing on this site usually brings more advantages than disadvantages, but if in your case what you want is not to be present you will see that it is very easy to remove a business from Google Maps.
If you find the process of deleting your Google My Business account very complicated and you need help to do it, do not hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to help you.